Introduction to Hands-on Bioconductor Workshop

     

    Course Overview/Description: There will be two courses offered by the BioConductor community:

     

    Introduction to Bioconductor Annotation Resources (Thursday, 29th April 2021 @ 8am EDT/12noon GMT/1pm WAT/ 2pm CAT/3pm EAT to 11am EDT/3pm GMT/ 4pm WAT/5pm CAT/6pm EAT) (https://jmacdon.github.io/Bioc2020Anno/#introduction-to-bioconductor-annotation-resources)

     

    There are various annotation packages provided by the Bioconductor project that can be used to incorporate additional information to results from high-throughput experiments. This can be as simple as mapping Ensembl IDs to corresponding HUGO gene symbols, to much more complex queries involving multiple data sources. In this workshop, we will cover the various classes of annotation packages, what they contain, and how to use them efficiently.

     

    Epidemiology for Bioinformaticians (Friday, 30th April 2021 – 8am EDT/12noon GMT/1pm WAT/ 2pm CAT/3pm EAT to 11am EDT/3pm GMT/ 4pm WAT/5pm CAT/6pm EAT ) (https://chloemirzayi.com/EpiForBioWorkshop2020/#epidemiology-for-bioinformaticians) Concepts of causal inference in epidemiology have important ramifications for studies across bioinformatics and other fields of health research. In this workshop, we introduce basic concepts of epidemiology, study design, and causal inference for bioinformaticians. Emphasis is placed on addressing bias and confounding as common threats to assessing a causal pathway in a variety of study design types and when using common forms of analyses such as GWAS and survival analysis. Workshop participants will have the opportunity to create their structural causal models (DAGs) and use this model to determine how to assess an estimated causal effect. Examples using DESeq2, edgeR, and limma will be used to show how multivariable models can be fitted depending on the hypothesized causal relationship.

     

    Presented successfully at BioC2019 to 30 people, updates that material by adding a brief demonstration of ggdag, revised conceptual emphasis based on participant feedback, and applied examples using data from curated metagenomic data.

     

    The introduction to hands-on Bioconductor workshop is a virtual two-half-day training to provide an overview of leveraging open-source Bioconductor resources for research studies. The course tools and packages relevant for this course will be hosted on Orchestra, an online platform for teaching and learning hands-on computational skills in self-contained and launchable workshop environments.

     

    The proposed courses will lay a foundation on how to efficiently use open-source Bioconductor resources for bioinformatics analysis. The course will be in two main forms which include;

    • lectures to introduce basic concepts
    • demonstrations and hands-on computer practicals on analysis pipeline/workflows for mapping identifiers, querying multiple data sources, performing epidemiological causal inference, and visualizing results in high-resolution publication format.

     

    The hands-on sessions may provide an opportunity for participants to work with their data. Instructors for the course have experience in developing and applying methods for research analysis and also involved in developing statistical methods/algorithms and Bioconductor packages

    You may now register for the upcoming virtual introduction to hands-on Bioconductor Workshop organized in collaboration with H3Africa, H3ABioNet, and the Bioconductor Community happening from 29-30 April  2021.

    This workshop/course is FREE to register and attend and promises to be interesting and beneficial.

    Refer to the attached document for more details and additional information on the workshop.

    Follow link to registerhttps://htraindb.h3abionet.org/node/2935

    Registration closes: 22nd April 2021

     

     

     


    © 2021 H3ABioNet.org
    Terms - Privacy - Policy & Safety - Helpdesk
    The H3ABioNet website content is solely the responsibility of the authors and does not necessarily represent the official views of the National Institute of Health